Reviews

… of the Great Western Randonnées’ landscape. Each ride has a more concise collection on their page; grouped by ‘event’ if appropriate: the distance variations, perms, slightly hAAArder ones, etc.

GWRaudax / Sinseekers & Moonrakers 300 BR

5.0 rating
11th August 2020

What a day & what a route. We set out from Warmley on a very warm & beautiful day and headed out on the cycle path before turning off at Salford into quiet back country lanes. Before we knew it we reached the first check point a lovely farm shop at Stourbridge, Fueled up we were back on the road heading towards the coast with a few #willshills thrown in. We stopped for lunch at Lulworth Cove which was a nice treat, we then moved onto Studland taking in a lovely gravel section and then taking the ferry across to Sandbanks with the rich & famous. The route from Poole was again stunning with miles of quiet country lanes, a bit more gravel thrown in and a lovely food stop in Shaftesbury at 10.00pm. We rolled back into Warmley at 3.00am. A long but very enjoyable day and the route really is a must for anyone who enjoys the quiet lanes, seeing the coast for an hour or two and having a long enjoyable day in the saddle.

David L

Organiser’s review & image test

5.0 rating
25th June 2020

Well, being the creator of this ride I can only say it is excellent 😉
Test rode it with Mr. T back in March 2017 & again on the event 2019 where I’d made a few changes. Now incorporating Woodhenge & Durrington Walls as well as Avebury and Stonehenge. Great cafe stops. And of course a few #wills_hills before the finish. One of my favourite routes

Will P

No moon Just full clouds of wetness.

5.0 rating
11th March 2020

Fantastic route to toughen the resolve with the weather conditions we encountered early March. Driving rain all the way round and fog on higher ground with 6 feet visibility added to the atmospheric conditions. . New climb for me to get on top of the Mendips – Coley Road out of Harptee towards Chewton Mendip. descent down Canada coombe after Bleadon a little sketchy but prewarned at arrivee.
Brilliant route would be a great ride in the summer.

Farooq C

Great tough days riding

5.0 rating
10th March 2020

This was a great ride and brilliantly organised thanks to Will and his team… there is a sting in the tail after Radstock with some challenging ascents…

Simon

Cracking ride

5.0 rating
8th March 2020

Great day out, I think Will must have found every 20%+ climb in Somerset and Dorset. Well chuffed to get up them all, good controls & scoff. Special thanks to the “Oldies” at Yeovil working their socks off to feed us all.

Jim

Response from Pedalution

Trust me Jim, there are more! 😉

Not my cup of tea

4.0 rating
2nd March 2020

There was a long stretch of very busy roads with too many traffic lights coming to London that I hate it. I did enjoy the first part, probably because it was daylight?

Brano S

Response from Pedalution

Quieter route in but longer for the future

My first 600 km

5.0 rating
2nd March 2020

This was my first 600 and my bottom was suffering very badly. Likely I was riding most of the route with someone, which made it a bit more enjoyable!.
Big that you to Michal and Zlatimira! And Thank you to Will, too! 🙂

Brano S

Very cold!

4.0 rating
2nd March 2020

I have found this ride very cold. Also, because I came to the start too late, I have to ride it mostly without the group. There was a bit section that I didn’t like. It was the main road leaving Lacock.

Brano S

Dark, wet and cold

4.0 rating
2nd March 2020

Well organized with good middle stop for food and exelent service! A bit nippy leaving Poole.
I wish the weather was nicer! 🙂

Brano S

Will goes the extra mile to give everyone the best possible event. Thanks!

5.0 rating
24th February 2020

A really excellent event. Great route, great controls, nothing is too much trouble for Will and his helpers. Like another reviewer I too struggled to find the sleep control in the middle of a wild and windy night but that was probably because I was tired and not thinking straight! It was worth it when I did find it. I had some good grub and got my head down ready for the early morning stretch out to Maidenhead.

Bob D