Reviews

… of the Great Western Randonnées’ landscape. Each ride has a more concise collection on their page; grouped by ‘event’ if appropriate: the distance variations, perms, slightly hAAArder ones, etc.

No moon Just full clouds of wetness.

5.0 rating
11th March 2020

Fantastic route to toughen the resolve with the weather conditions we encountered early March. Driving rain all the way round and fog on higher ground with 6 feet visibility added to the atmospheric conditions. . New climb for me to get on top of the Mendips – Coley Road out of Harptee towards Chewton Mendip. descent down Canada coombe after Bleadon a little sketchy but prewarned at arrivee.
Brilliant route would be a great ride in the summer.

Farooq C

Great tough days riding

5.0 rating
10th March 2020

This was a great ride and brilliantly organised thanks to Will and his team… there is a sting in the tail after Radstock with some challenging ascents…

Simon

Cracking ride

5.0 rating
8th March 2020

Great day out, I think Will must have found every 20%+ climb in Somerset and Dorset. Well chuffed to get up them all, good controls & scoff. Special thanks to the “Oldies” at Yeovil working their socks off to feed us all.

Jim

Response from Pedalution

Trust me Jim, there are more! 😉

Not my cup of tea

4.0 rating
2nd March 2020

There was a long stretch of very busy roads with too many traffic lights coming to London that I hate it. I did enjoy the first part, probably because it was daylight?

Brano S

Response from Pedalution

Quieter route in but longer for the future

My first 600 km

5.0 rating
2nd March 2020

This was my first 600 and my bottom was suffering very badly. Likely I was riding most of the route with someone, which made it a bit more enjoyable!.
Big that you to Michal and Zlatimira! And Thank you to Will, too! 🙂

Brano S

Very cold!

4.0 rating
2nd March 2020

I have found this ride very cold. Also, because I came to the start too late, I have to ride it mostly without the group. There was a bit section that I didn’t like. It was the main road leaving Lacock.

Brano S

Dark, wet and cold

4.0 rating
2nd March 2020

Well organized with good middle stop for food and exelent service! A bit nippy leaving Poole.
I wish the weather was nicer! 🙂

Brano S

Will goes the extra mile to give everyone the best possible event. Thanks!

5.0 rating
24th February 2020

A really excellent event. Great route, great controls, nothing is too much trouble for Will and his helpers. Like another reviewer I too struggled to find the sleep control in the middle of a wild and windy night but that was probably because I was tired and not thinking straight! It was worth it when I did find it. I had some good grub and got my head down ready for the early morning stretch out to Maidenhead.

Bob D

Beautiful 300km of pure hills

5.0 rating
23rd February 2020

Scenery-Great. Organisation- great. Clotted cream scone at Shaftesbury- great. The hills were very hard: Gold Hill- I wimped out; and the hill out of Bath…ughhhh, but of the others- the views and camaraderie out on the road were great. A very hard 300km, but definitely an enjoyable day out.

Ali C

Perfect Christmas Challenge

5.0 rating
23rd February 2020

Fabulous audax. Excellent communication-esp how to get around the floods. Northampton came at just the right point for a sleep- I know it is not very audax, but I do like a shower and a proper bed- and there was plenty of choice there. The Christmas lights on all the houses were very pretty and really cheered up the long dark evening (thanks for organising that Will). The only thing I would change if possible would be the quite long and busy A road before Cambridge- a car nearly took us out on it. The other audaxers were delightful and I really appreciated the welcome Will gave us at the end.

Ali C