Reviews

… of the Great Western Randonnées’ landscape. Each ride has a more concise collection on their page; grouped by ‘event’ if appropriate: the distance variations, perms, slightly hAAArder ones, etc.

Cracking ride!

5.0 rating
14th October 2020

Where does he find these #wills_hills? Not one for the faint hearted! Em and I rode it on our own. We had lots of darkeness due to our start time, but what we did see until the turnaround point was breathtaking. So many incredible places I hadn’t been before. One of my highlights has to be the toll road. Such a great challenge – this route won’t fail to deliver.

Anisa

Excellent early season 400

5.0 rating
22nd September 2020

Yes, 400 – with the late start this is an excellent ECE opportunity. Ridden twice, thoroughly enjoyed the route, controls and riding companions. Caffeine tablets recommended! Looking forward to next time…

Martin C

GWRaudax / Sinseekers & Moonrakers 300 BR

5.0 rating
11th August 2020

What a day & what a route. We set out from Warmley on a very warm & beautiful day and headed out on the cycle path before turning off at Salford into quiet back country lanes. Before we knew it we reached the first check point a lovely farm shop at Stourbridge, Fueled up we were back on the road heading towards the coast with a few #willshills thrown in. We stopped for lunch at Lulworth Cove which was a nice treat, we then moved onto Studland taking in a lovely gravel section and then taking the ferry across to Sandbanks with the rich & famous. The route from Poole was again stunning with miles of quiet country lanes, a bit more gravel thrown in and a lovely food stop in Shaftesbury at 10.00pm. We rolled back into Warmley at 3.00am. A long but very enjoyable day and the route really is a must for anyone who enjoys the quiet lanes, seeing the coast for an hour or two and having a long enjoyable day in the saddle.

David L

Organiser’s review & image test

5.0 rating
25th June 2020

Well, being the creator of this ride I can only say it is excellent 😉
Test rode it with Mr. T back in March 2017 & again on the event 2019 where I’d made a few changes. Now incorporating Woodhenge & Durrington Walls as well as Avebury and Stonehenge. Great cafe stops. And of course a few #wills_hills before the finish. One of my favourite routes

Will P

No moon Just full clouds of wetness.

5.0 rating
11th March 2020

Fantastic route to toughen the resolve with the weather conditions we encountered early March. Driving rain all the way round and fog on higher ground with 6 feet visibility added to the atmospheric conditions. . New climb for me to get on top of the Mendips – Coley Road out of Harptee towards Chewton Mendip. descent down Canada coombe after Bleadon a little sketchy but prewarned at arrivee.
Brilliant route would be a great ride in the summer.

Farooq C

Great tough days riding

5.0 rating
10th March 2020

This was a great ride and brilliantly organised thanks to Will and his team… there is a sting in the tail after Radstock with some challenging ascents…

Simon

Cracking ride

5.0 rating
8th March 2020

Great day out, I think Will must have found every 20%+ climb in Somerset and Dorset. Well chuffed to get up them all, good controls & scoff. Special thanks to the “Oldies” at Yeovil working their socks off to feed us all.

Jim

Response from Pedalution

Trust me Jim, there are more! 😉

Not my cup of tea

4.0 rating
2nd March 2020

There was a long stretch of very busy roads with too many traffic lights coming to London that I hate it. I did enjoy the first part, probably because it was daylight?

Brano S

Response from Pedalution

Quieter route in but longer for the future

My first 600 km

5.0 rating
2nd March 2020

This was my first 600 and my bottom was suffering very badly. Likely I was riding most of the route with someone, which made it a bit more enjoyable!.
Big that you to Michal and Zlatimira! And Thank you to Will, too! 🙂

Brano S

Very cold!

4.0 rating
2nd March 2020

I have found this ride very cold. Also, because I came to the start too late, I have to ride it mostly without the group. There was a bit section that I didn’t like. It was the main road leaving Lacock.

Brano S