Reviews

… of the Great Western Randonnées’ landscape. Each ride has a more concise collection on their page; grouped by ‘event’ if appropriate: the distance variations, perms, slightly hAAArder ones, etc.

Excellent early season 400

Rated 5 out of 5
22nd September 2020

Yes, 400 – with the late start this is an excellent ECE opportunity. Ridden twice, thoroughly enjoyed the route, controls and riding companions. Caffeine tablets recommended! Looking forward to next time…

Reviews 1
Martin

GWRaudax / Sinseekers & Moonrakers 300 BR

Rated 5 out of 5
11th August 2020

What a day & what a route. We set out from Warmley on a very warm & beautiful day and headed out on the cycle path before turning off at Salford into quiet back country lanes. Before we knew it we reached the first check point a lovely farm shop at Stourbridge, Fueled up we were back on the road heading towards the coast with a few #willshills thrown in. We stopped for lunch at Lulworth Cove which was a nice treat, we then moved onto Studland taking in a lovely gravel section and then taking the ferry across to Sandbanks with the rich & famous. The route from Poole was again stunning with miles of quiet country lanes, a bit more gravel thrown in and a lovely food stop in Shaftesbury at 10.00pm. We rolled back into Warmley at 3.00am. A long but very enjoyable day and the route really is a must for anyone who enjoys the quiet lanes, seeing the coast for an hour or two and having a long enjoyable day in the saddle.

Reviews 11
David

Organiser’s review & image test

Rated 5 out of 5
25th June 2020

Well, being the creator of this ride I can only say it is excellent 😉
Test rode it with Mr. T back in March 2017 & again on the event 2019 where I’d made a few changes. Now incorporating Woodhenge & Durrington Walls as well as Avebury and Stonehenge. Great cafe stops. And of course a few #wills_hills before the finish. One of my favourite routes

Reviews 25
Will

No moon Just full clouds of wetness.

Rated 5 out of 5
11th March 2020

Fantastic route to toughen the resolve with the weather conditions we encountered early March. Driving rain all the way round and fog on higher ground with 6 feet visibility added to the atmospheric conditions. . New climb for me to get on top of the Mendips – Coley Road out of Harptee towards Chewton Mendip. descent down Canada coombe after Bleadon a little sketchy but prewarned at arrivee.
Brilliant route would be a great ride in the summer.

Reviews 27
Farooq

Great tough days riding

Rated 5 out of 5
10th March 2020

This was a great ride and brilliantly organised thanks to Will and his team… there is a sting in the tail after Radstock with some challenging ascents…

Reviews 29
Simon

Cracking ride

Rated 5 out of 5
8th March 2020

Great day out, I think Will must have found every 20%+ climb in Somerset and Dorset. Well chuffed to get up them all, good controls & scoff. Special thanks to the “Oldies” at Yeovil working their socks off to feed us all.

Reviews 31
Jim

Response from Pedalution

Trust me Jim, there are more! 😉

Not my cup of tea

Rated 4 out of 5
2nd March 2020

There was a long stretch of very busy roads with too many traffic lights coming to London that I hate it. I did enjoy the first part, probably because it was daylight?

Reviews 33
Brano

Response from Pedalution

Quieter route in but longer for the future

My first 600 km

Rated 5 out of 5
2nd March 2020

This was my first 600 and my bottom was suffering very badly. Likely I was riding most of the route with someone, which made it a bit more enjoyable!.
Big that you to Michal and Zlatimira! And Thank you to Will, too! 🙂

Reviews 33
Brano

Very cold!

Rated 4 out of 5
2nd March 2020

I have found this ride very cold. Also, because I came to the start too late, I have to ride it mostly without the group. There was a bit section that I didn’t like. It was the main road leaving Lacock.

Reviews 33
Brano

Dark, wet and cold

Rated 4 out of 5
2nd March 2020

Well organized with good middle stop for food and exelent service! A bit nippy leaving Poole.
I wish the weather was nicer! 🙂

Reviews 33
Brano