Reviews

… of the Great Western Randonnées’ landscape. Each ride has a more concise collection on their page; grouped by ‘event’ if appropriate: the distance variations, perms, slightly hAAArder ones, etc.

Beautiful 300km of pure hills

5.0 rating
23rd February 2020

Scenery-Great. Organisation- great. Clotted cream scone at Shaftesbury- great. The hills were very hard: Gold Hill- I wimped out; and the hill out of Bath…ughhhh, but of the others- the views and camaraderie out on the road were great. A very hard 300km, but definitely an enjoyable day out.

Ali C

Perfect Christmas Challenge

5.0 rating
23rd February 2020

Fabulous audax. Excellent communication-esp how to get around the floods. Northampton came at just the right point for a sleep- I know it is not very audax, but I do like a shower and a proper bed- and there was plenty of choice there. The Christmas lights on all the houses were very pretty and really cheered up the long dark evening (thanks for organising that Will). The only thing I would change if possible would be the quite long and busy A road before Cambridge- a car nearly took us out on it. The other audaxers were delightful and I really appreciated the welcome Will gave us at the end.

Ali C

Hard but great scenery

4.0 rating
21st February 2020

There are a couple of really tough hills in this event that will test you. I’ve done it twice, and when it was very windy on the second ride, I ended up walking up two hills. Overall, I think this is one of the most scenic Audaxes that I have done. Well worth the effort.

Keith B

Fantastic 300k

5.0 rating
14th February 2020

I took the train over from Paddington for this ride, and really enjoyed it.
It was well organised and the route is excellent, the riding over night was worth it for the trip back from Poole to Bristol.
Milton Abbas was certainly the hi-light for me, followed by the Somerset Levels. The variety of landscapes is exceptional, but the Strawberry Line on paper looks great, however the reality is somewhat chaotic!

Adrian W

Excellent Ride

5.0 rating
10th February 2020

Well organised , really enjoyed the ride, plus ECE to extend to 200!

Mike G

Great night out

5.0 rating
10th February 2020

What a great night out!
Fast start, keep your wits about you in the unfamiliar bustling throngs of the big smoke, before dawn and a return to the rolling west. A thoroughly enjoyable experience.
A unique feel to an Audax and helped get me to PBP. After this ride I’ll always keep an eye out for more of Will’s routes

Craig

First fixed 200

4.0 rating
10th February 2020
Review of Air Mail 200

I chose this as a first go at a 200km on the fixed gear, and it’s a great route for it. Main roads and steady gradients mean it’s also nicer winter riding, albeit with a touch more traffic in places. Nice selection of stops at Cirencester and helpful staff in both cafes later on. If you hit the halfway cafe in the ‘bulge’ you will have to be prepared to be outside, which may be weather dependent.

Luke H

Good winter route

5.0 rating
10th February 2020

I rode this in December 2018. It’s a well organised ride with a higher number of stops than you might usually expect (four, with two of them ‘free’ controls). This makes it much more of a day out than a race round, but I felt was a real help given the colder conditions. Basically riding a couple of hours between each stop. Some challenging climbs, and be prepared for messy winter lanes. Great fun!

Luke H

Fantastic Festive 500

5.0 rating
9th February 2020

Wow … just wow! What an amazing and challenging ride to end 2019!. Yes there were some A-road sections that felt a bit long and some navigational moments requiring a good level of concentration, but this is massively offset by the ride through countless stunning lanes and picturesque villages, all decked with “bells and holly” – its a Christmas extravaganza! Accommodation at 340KM in a proper Audax hotel … a 100yr old bus shelter, only served to add to the adventure. A very warm welcome from Will at the ariveé, accompanied with hot food and drink was the icing on the “Christmas” cake…chapeau!

Nic C

a cracker

5.0 rating
8th February 2020

A good all nighter for first timers. I’ve ridden this one twice.. It’s got some lovely bits.. super straight fast bit after Salisbury, after breakfast hills though Dorset. Bournemouth seafront just before dawn is my favourite bit.
Really well looked after at the breakfast control at Poole (thanks!). Strawberry line can be a bit messy if wet, watch out for walkers.. but it’s a hoot at speed 🙂
For the second edition Will adjusted the route for the better on the return into Bristol to avoid the busy a370 and the city centre.
I’ll keep coming back for Will’s rides..

Tom D